The Welland Trophy 2015 The VTTA versus the LVRC

The idea for this event was conceived after an informal meeting between the VTTA and the LVRC  in the middle of last year and after months of planning and discussion – the day finally arrived.  Saturday 18th April was bright and dry but with a very chilly easterly wind and at 14.02 the first rider started on the hilly 12.5 mile circuit around Malvern.  The co-organisers were Mike Amery [ LVRC ] and Alan Colburn [ VTTA ] with generous support from Tim Wood at Echelon Cycles, Pershore who kindly provided the Team prizes of £20 per rider.

The original plan was to use a rolling 16 mile circuit but major road works to a motorway bridge were running severely behind schedule and forced a change to the shorter but decidedly lumpier circuit.  As the main results were being calculated on the recently revised VTTA Standards it was decided to take the figures for 15 miles in respect of the more demanding terrain.

It had been decided that the main prize would be the Team Award contested by teams of ten riders representing their respective associations for a new trophy presented by Alan Colburn – Past President of the VTTA.  After the event most riders stayed on for a short presentation in the well-appointed HQ at Welland Village Hall.  Excellent refreshments were provided by Mike Amery who also slaved over a hot computer to work out the results.

The Team Award this year went to the LVRC  who had a total plus of 47min19sec over the VTTA whose plus was 33min 43sec – a convincing victory and well deserved.  Members of the winning team were Karl Moseley  +7.30, Steve Bunn  +6.12, Richard Coleman  +4.54, Paul Moss  +4.28,  Mike Amery  +4.27,  Nick Stinton +4.23,  William Davies+4.03,  Jeremy Pile  +3.54, Mark Thomas +3.49 and Chris Davis  +3.39.

Other awards went to the following:

 BoS Road Bike: Paul Moss Coventry RC +4.28, Scott Westwood Walsall RCC +4.14, Mark Thomas Worcester St. Johns CC +3.49.

Fastest Men: Mark Corbett  Worcester St. Johns CC 32.06, James Middleton  Media Velo  32.32, Karl Moseley  Stourbridge Velo 32.58.

Fastest Women: Liz Powell  Mike Vaughan Cycles,  38.08, Annis Moore  Walsall RCC  42.16.

Vets Std: Karl Moseley  Stourbridge Velo  +7.30, Mark Corbett  Worcester St.Johns CC  +7.12, Steve Bunn  Welland Valley CC  +6.12, Brian Sunter  Condor RC  +5.52, Tim Wood  Team Echelon-Rotor  +5.19

The organisers would like to thank all their friends and club mates who helped to make the event a success by acting as “back room” staff and look forward to seeing everyone next year  on the Welland/Longdon 16 mile circuit – rumours say it might be a two-up TT.